Tags

, , , , , ,

WilliamTaylor.colour

On Ash Wednesday the City of London’s first ever Labour councillor announced his decision to step down from Common Council in an email:

Dear fellow Common Councilmen

Although I have decided not to stand in the election in Portsoken I’m pleased to say that two very good local candidates, Jason Pritchard and Munsur Ali, will be contesting the ward for Labour. The red flag may yet still fly above Guildhall.

The reason that I’m stepping down is to give my parish (and, indeed, my family) some rather overdue attention.

I know that some of you have regretted the entry of party politics into the City Corporation, but I hope that you may also acknowledge how the most excellent ancient institutions of the City of London need continually to find new ways to serve the Common Good.

My best wishes to you all,

William Taylor

The local Labour Party extends its thanks to William for showing us how to blend Labour values with community organising for the Common Good.

PROMOTED AND PUBLISHED BY PETER KENYON ON BEHALF OF CITY OF LONDON LABOUR PARTY BOTH OF 361 SHAKESPEARE TOWER BARBICAN LONDON EC2Y 8NJ

